How To: Block Someone on Google Hangouts



Updated June 2024: Stop getting error messages and slow down your system with our optimization tool. Get it now at this link
  1. Download and install the repair tool here.
  2. Let it scan your computer.
  3. The tool will then repair your computer.

Some people don’t know when to leave you alone. Or maybe you need to avoid seeing an ex online for a while. Take the time to block unwanted contacts from your appointment list with this step-by-step guide.

How to block and report someone in Google Hangouts

If you block someone, they can see that you are online, but they can’t send you messages.

If you block or ignore a user, you can also report an abuse.

  1. On your computer, go to the meeting places at hangouts.google.com or open your Gmail.
  2. Select the person from your contact list to open a conversation.
  3. Click Settings at the top of the conversation, then click Block & Report Blocking.
  4. To report an abuse, check the “Also report” box.
  5. To block only the person, clear the Declare also check box.
  6. Click on Confirm.
  7. If you report an abuse, a copy of the last 10 messages from your conversation will be sent to Google for review.

June 2024 Update:

You can now prevent PC problems by using this tool, such as protecting you against file loss and malware. Additionally, it is a great way to optimize your computer for maximum performance. The program fixes common errors that might occur on Windows systems with ease - no need for hours of troubleshooting when you have the perfect solution at your fingertips:

  • Step 1 : Download PC Repair & Optimizer Tool (Windows 10, 8, 7, XP, Vista – Microsoft Gold Certified).
  • Step 2 : Click “Start Scan” to find Windows registry issues that could be causing PC problems.
  • Step 3 : Click “Repair All” to fix all issues.

Download Now

Important: This function is currently available in the web version.

How to block someone on Google Hangouts on mobile

There are small differences in this process, depending on whether you have an Android or an iPhone:

  1. Open the Hangouts application.
  2. If you are using an Android, open a call by pressing the plus sign in the lower right-hand corner of the screen for a new call or by selecting a call on the main screen; if you are using an iPhone, press the Conversations tab at the bottom of the screen, then open a call.
  3. Press the three points, then select People.
  4. Select the person you want to block, then press Block (or Block users if you have an iPhone).
  5. Tap on “Block” again to confirm your decision.

Once the person is blocked, they will no longer appear in your contact list and will no longer be able to see you on their list or chat with you. If you have Google Plus, they will be removed from your circle and will not be able to see or comment on your messages. However, you can still see your public activity on Google.

How to unlock someone in Google Hangouts

In any case, you want to unlock someone in Google Hangouts, here’s how you do it:

1. go to the “meeting points” in the layer.
2. press the three dots for “More”.
3. Open “Settings”.
4. select “Blocked persons”.
5. Click on “Unlock” next to the person’s name.

https://support.google.com/hangouts/answer/2945109?co=GENIE.Platform%3DAndroid&hl=en-GB



Expert Tip: This repair tool scans the repositories and replaces corrupt or missing files if none of these methods have worked. It works well in most cases where the problem is due to system corruption. This tool will also optimize your system to maximize performance. It can be downloaded by Clicking Here

Scroll to Top